h1

Day 144 for Allie

June 7, 2009

I moved Allie over into the maternity paddock on Friday evening.    June 13th will be day 150 for her and is her “offical” due date.   But Nigerian Dwarfs actually have a “normal kidding range” of 145-150 days.   No sign of impending labor today, but she is craving even more attention than usual so I know we are getting close.

Allie on day 144 of her 4th pregnancy.

Allie on day 144 of her 4th pregnancy.

The other goat kids are all doing well.  Millie is sometimes letting Rocky and Rita play a little bit with Ramie and Rudy.   As soon as Allie kids I will probably move everyone but Allie and her kid(s) over to the larger pasture.   Richocet, Reggie and Rudy are all scheduled to go to their new home on the 1st of July.  My days of bottle feeding are, God willing, almost over!

Rocky trying to entice his older half sister Ramie into playing with him.

Rocky trying to entice his older half sister Ramie into playing with him.

Ramie at 2 1/2 months.  She will be staying here on the "ranch".

Ramie at 2 1/2 months. She will be staying here on the "ranch".

Bekah getting some love from Rocky

Bekah getting some love from Rocky

Rita & Rocky being silly kids!

Rita & Rocky being silly kids!

Rita giving me a little sugar.  She is such a sweetie!

Rita giving me a little sugar. She is such a sweetie!

In other news I sold our tractor on Thursday.  Going to miss it, but with the new focus being on the goats it isn’t quite as necessary.  And I can hire out for tractor jobs for cheaper than I can own it right now.

Now I just need to find a buyer for my heifers.  I am going to be sad to see them go, but I just have wrap my head around the new direction we are going (concentrating on Nigerian Dwarf goats) and put my energies into that.

Leave a Reply

