h1

Gratitude, Wishes & Challenges

December 1, 2008

It’s that time of year to think of all things we are thankful for.  I am thankful for our little ranch and the opportunity to expose our children to a rural lifestyle.   They certainly seem to enjoy the animals and helping with chores and all of that is a part of building their character.

On Thanksgiving day the weather cooperated long enough for us to get the last of the siding up on the cow shelter.  They seem to appreciate the additional protection from the weather.  I still haven’t gotten around to drawing blood on Matilda for the pregnancy test – yes I’m a big chicken.  🙂   At least I haven’t noted any signs of heat in her, unfortunately I haven’t noticed any clear signs of heat in Maggie either.  Hard to judge when to breed her when I can’t figure out her cycle.

I noticed that the girls halters were getting a bit tight so I decided to adjust them.  Matilda let me adjust her’s with minimum fuss, but Maggie managed to slip her halter and I haven’t been able to catch her since.   I think I’m going to have try alfalfa pellets and see if that will distract her long enough to get a rope around her neck.

It is also this time of year that I start wishing for a “real” barn so I could do most of the chores inside – especially the milking chores.  But real barns are expensive, and we really don’t have a good place to put one since we live on a ridge and level ground is pretty much non-existent.    But it is nice to dream about one anyway.  🙂

Leave a Reply

