h1

Continued Heifer Training

October 30, 2008

Now that I can get Matilida to stand still for touching if she is eating alfalfa pellets or apples my next goal is to get her to allow touching while she is eating hay.   Apparently hay isn’t good enough in her book to warrent putting up with being touched.   This morning she would snif my hand, but never did allow me to touch her.

As expected Maggie was even worse, she threw a bawling fit and kept running around the corral.   I finally managed to get her to at least take a mouthful of hay from my hand.  But I can clearly see that i have my work cut out for me moving them to the next level of acceptance.

Ah well, challenges are a good thing – right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

