h1

Cautiously Optomistic

October 23, 2008

Well today is Matilda’s rebred date, and so far I have seen no signs at all of her coming into heat.  Now that it is almost noon, I am growing cautiously optimistic that she indeed might be bred.   I will give it a couple more days and then pick up the pregnancy testing supplies.    The earliest I can draw blood for the test is the 4th of November, so I still have plenty of time to wait.

This morning Matilda stood quietly and let me give her a nice back massage while she was munching on some alfalfa pellets.   She still won’t let me touch her without food being involved, but at least she stands quietly for attention without trying to move away.

Maggie on the other hand still moves away when I try to touch her even when food is invovled.  She did do a little better this morning and I was able to touch her should briefly on both sides.  But if I let my hand linger longer than 5 seconds she moves off.

2 comments

  1. Hello,

    My wife and I want to purchase about 6 Dexter cows (4 cows and 2 steers). We have a 5 acre piece of land. About 3 acres are usable for fencing and grow grass very well Western Washington state. My wife feels we can still live in Seattle and see the cows on the on the weekend. I’m concerned that we are not with them much what if something happens. I feel that being a weekend warrior here is not being responsible. Can we actually pull this off being responsible cattle caretakers? Is there anything you can add that would be helpful? Thank you. Sincerely Bernie


  2. I don’t think you can pull it off – without hiring someone to check on them frequently. They drink a lot of water, and while you can purchase auto fill floats what happens when they stop working on Monday and you aren’t there again until Saturday?

    And I think that is way to many cows for that amount of pasture, unless you were there to do rotational grazing with them. I know the grass grows well most of the year there, but there will be times of the year when you will need to supplement daily with hay.



Leave a Reply

