h1

Apple Butter

September 9, 2008

My friend Holli gave me this great apple butter recipe a couple of years ago and I just love it!  Very simple and since I usually make it overnight we wake up to a wonderful smelling house in the morning.

All Day Apple Butter

5 1/2 lbs of apples

2 cups sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 tsp salt

Peel, core and finely chop apples.  (I shredded the quarters in my Salad Shooter) Place the apples in a slow cooker (crock pot).  In a medium bowl, mix the sugar, cinnamon, cloves and salt.  Pour the mixture over the apples and mix well.  Cover and cook on high for 1 hour.

Reduce heat to low and cook 9-11 hours (now you know why I do it overnight) stirring occasionally , until the mixture is thickened and dark brown.

Uncover and continue cooking on low for 1 hour.  Stir with a whisk if desired, to increase smoothness.  Or you can use an immersion blender if you want to make it extra smooth after its finished cooking.  Personally I prefer it a little chunky.

Spoon the mixture into sterile containers, cover and refrigerate or freeze.   This makes about a quart total.

I have found that if you put this into hot canning jars and with hot lids they will seal and then there isn’t a need to freeze or refrigerate.  If you want to be absolutely certain you could run them through a pressure canner like you would applesuace.

6 comments

  1. Oooh this sounds yummy! I’m bookmarking it to try!


  2. Yum, I love apple butter. I may try this.


  3. that does sound yummy AND easy! I will definitely have to try it!


  4. Will you please pop on over to my blog and tell me what kind of apples you use so I can make this fabulous recipe!


  5. Apple butter sounds good . . . but apple pie sounds even better! You’ve put me in the mood to bake, lol!


  6. mmmm – this sounds DELISH – I think I’m going to can me some (seeings as how we live on an orchard! Will make great Christmas Gifts!



Leave a Reply

