h1

Finally some progress with Maggie!

August 15, 2008

I was very pleased with this evenings training session.  Matilda will now allow me to touch on either side while tied and will allow me to touch her when she is untied on her left side when eating grain but not hay.   Apparently hay isn’t worth the intrusion.

Maggie, on the other hand, has not progressed much at all until today.  Tonight I really worked on the “touch before treat”.  She started out fighting and moving and gradually settled a wee bit.  But every time I would go get another handful of treats we would have to start over almost from zero.

I got tired of that and would offer the touch/treat and if she moved out of reach I stepped back and didn’t offer her anything.  She eventually caught on and would move her body back over into reach, but harrumphed at me most every time.  🙂   Eventually I was able to run my hand the full length of her back.  And then was able to keep stroking her back/shoulder while she was chewing without her stepping away.

Needless to say I am feeling renewed sense of hope that I will eventually be able to turn these two into some good family milk cows.   Providing of course that they turn out to have decent udders and milk production.

Leave a Reply

