h1

Contact!

August 5, 2008

This morning I tied both heifers up short to a couple of large fir trees in the corral.  My plan was to touch Maggie’s shoulder, but even with sweet feed as an incentive she was having no part of it.   Matilda on the other hand fought the rope, but when approached with sweet feed stood still and allowed me to run my hand all over her back clear back to her hips and down her shoulder.

I left them tied for about a 1/2 hour and then came back and tried it again.  Maggie still freaked out at the slightest sign of my reaching towards her and Matilida, who fought the rope the whole time I was gone (I was watching from the house.) stood for me to touch her.

I may go out and try a repeat performace a little later depending on the temperature.   We are supposed to get into the mid 90’s today which far enough over our usual summer temps that the National Weather Service has issued a heat advisory for today and tomorrow.    If I don’t get a chance today, you can bet that I’ll be out there in the cool of the morning tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

