h1

“I love doing chores!”

July 3, 2008

It’s 7am and Bekah and I are walking hand in hand down to the cow corral to feed & water this morning when she looks up and says to me with all the earnestness that a 4 year old can muster, “I love doing chores!”   It’s those kind of priceless moments that make it all worthwhile.

Actually I love doing chores too – especially at this time of year when the temperature in the morning and evening is just right and you can smell the freshly harvested rye grass on the breeze.

Morning chores only take about 20 minutes and evening chores (i.e “putting the chickens to bed”) take 10 minutes or less right now, but next year we will be milking more animals so that means we will have to be up a lot earlier in the morning.   Some how I don’t think Bekah will mind.  I just pray that she will still love chores as much when she is old enough to do more than just carry a feed bucket or hold the water hose. 🙂

One comment

  1. Awww don’t you just love the eagerness to help at this age! I love it! Very cute post!



Leave a Reply

